Skyphone is an electronic trio consisting of Keld Dam Schmidt, Thomas Holst and Mads Bødker.

Having played in various rock outfits during the nineties, and having been friends for decades, the three of them began experimenting with the obligatory samplers, tape decks and noisy Roland GM modules of the time.

The process of getting to know new instruments, time-consuming as it is, slowly but steadily made defunct the rock bands, and in 1999 Skyphone was founded in the leftover room at a painters studio in Copenhagen. What might have prompted more industrial noises from the band, namely the room’s concrete walls and floors, was quickly, and to some post-industrial (and rather apocalyptic) aesthetic effect, covered with various carpets.

Skyphone were signed to the Norwegian label Rune Grammofon in 2003 and released their debut album “Fabula” in early 2004. Their second album “Avellaneda” was released in March 2008

Contact: skyphone@skyphone.dk

>> Download the press release for our new album Avellaneda (2008) [PDF]

>> Download press photo [JPEG]